Earth Day Storytime: Seeds and Flowers!

For today’s Head Start visit (four classes each Wednesday!), I really liked these books for a seed and flower-themed storytime in celebration of Earth Day. I knew they’d already be talking about recycling, reusing, etc. all week at school, so I wanted to do something different yet related.

Seeds by Vijaya Khisty Bodach

I try to sneak in non-fiction books whenever I can, so I grabbed this one, and it was great for a preschool-age storytime. The text was very simple yet informative and conversation-provoking. I was even able to talk about poop when we got to the part about birds eating berries and the sees coming out “in their waste.” That’s the mark of an excellent storytime book, in my opinion. Poop.

Flower Garden by Eve Bunting

I love this book for storytime! For one, it’s full of diverse characters, which we know is a trait lacking in many picture books. Also, because the girl in the story lives in the city, we got to talk about the city’s tall buildings, lack of yard space, apartment living, different places to plant gardens, etc. The mention of birthday cake and chocolate ice cream at the end got the kids (and me, I’ll admit) a bit riled up, but that’s to be expected just before lunch time!

Flowers by Number by David Shapiro

I really liked this one for all of the information that it contained about when and where different flowers grow, plus the element of counting the flowers, petals, leaves, etc. ALSO, the counting in this book starts at zero, which I don’t see a lot but think should definitely be included in some counting books.

Leave a Reply

