iPad Storytime at Head Start!

I visit Head Start every Wednesday and see four classes. Every time I walk into a classroom, someone shouts, “Did you bring your tablet today?!” Usually my answer is no, but this week, I got to say “YES!!!”

When I use the iPad in storytime, I sometimes use just an activity or sometimes just a story, and pair them  according to a theme with regular books. This time though, I did just iPad stories, and even though the apps I chose had nothing in common, it was still a blast!

Here are the apps I used-  Go Away Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberley- This is a book that is perfect to be used in an interactive app, with the facial features that appear and disappear. We also liked that when I touched each new feature, it wiggled and made a sound. Ed Emberley’s narration of the book is also great.  Red in Bed by Josh On– This story is so great for use in a storytime. It’s quick and easy, and the interaction is perfect. You change the colors of things by touching them, and it’s magical! Red can’t go out in the morning to color things, so the other colors offer to color for him, but they color things the wrong colors! The orange strawberries, blue firetruck, etc. were HILARIOUS to the kids. Then when Red starts to feel better, he comes and fixes the colors and everything looks right again! Each color also makes a noise when touched, and when Red is feeling sick, the sound it makes.. well, let’s just say it has been compared to a toot.  Don’t Let the Pigeon Run this App! by Mo Willems- I’ve posted about this one before here. It’s always so much fun!

Leave a Reply

